Such a nice little well-written jab at the drug Facebook and Twitter are injecting into their users. The many Hoop.la, UBB, and Eve communities, as well as Narrative are examples of how user to user interaction through the web should be done.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .