There are definitely differences (and the differences are increasing over time), but I recommend setting yourself up with a site on v2 so you can kick the tires yourself to see if it will work for you. You can sign up for a new site (14-day free trial) here:
Use that site to experiment (since it will be on v2) and then just let it expire after 14 days. Then, if you want us to switch your real site over to v2, we can do so. We can also answer any specific questions you have while you are kicking the tires on your test site.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .